The First Climb

Aside from being crazy enough to set a goal of hiking up and down 46 mountains, there’s far more preparation that goes into starting this adventure than I had originally anticipated. I mean, 46 mountains is a lot…so  where do you begin?

Thinking that we were easing out way into the harder stuff, we decided to start with a hike that was categorized as easy(I say that in italics because what I thought would be easy is actually on my personal radar as brutally hard). I assumed that an easy hike up a mountain meant simply taking a stroll up a high incline on a clearly marked dirt path. As a result of my ignorant assumptions, I wore my favorite Nike running shoes and we all filled our packs with an abundance of water and food (thinking a little weight in our packs would be worth what was inside of them). However, the combination of climbing for 1.25 hours through inches of mud and over towering boulders left us wishing for hiking boots and lighter packs. Luckily, we had chosen a cooler day; otherwise the heat would have been close to unbearable for carrying so much weight.

Then something unforgettable happened. After all the sweat, mud, and shaky muscles, we broke through a wall of greenery and found ourselves looking up to a rocky summit; we survived our first hike. Not only did we brave the unanticipated struggle, but we quickly realized that the view at the top was worth every step. Standing on the top of a mountain isn’t something you can explain with a picture and a story; it’s an experience altogether. Starting from the bottom, getting to the top, finally catching your breath, and standing over the world as far as the eye can see; knowing that you deserve the view that’s laid out in front of you.

One look down at what I just accomplished and I was addicted.

I learned more from my first high peak than I could have ever hoped for. Sure, I learned that it might be smart to invest in a pair of hiking boots… but what I’m most grateful for is discovering such an exhilarating and fulfilling experience. Your first climb bring you an adrenaline rush that leaves you wanting more. 

IMG_8401

IMG_8398

Leave a comment